The difference between the three different Councils can be confusing. Here a short clarification.

European Council: The big shots


Role: Defines the general political direction and priorities of the European Union
e.g. 2014 Council Decision on the EU’s 2030 Climate and Energy Policy Framework
Members: Heads of state or government of EU countries, European Commission President, High Representative for Foreign Affairs & Security Policy
President: Donald Tusk (former Prime Minister of Poland). His term 2014 - 2017.
Established in: 1974 (informal forum), 1992 (formal status), 2009 (official EU institution) 

Council of the European Union: Making laws


Role:  Adopting EU laws and coordinating EU policies. Together with the European Parliament, the EU’s main legislative body.
Members: Government ministers from each EU country, according to the policy area to be discussed
President: 28 member states take turns, for six months each. The presidency organises and chairs meetings in the Council and its preparatory bodies, and draws up compromises that can pave the way for Council decisions.   

  • Malta: January-June 2017,  Estonia: July-December 2017
  • Bulgaria: January-June 2018,  Austria: July-December 2018
  • Romania: January-June 2019, Finland: July-December 2019
  • Croatia: January-June 2020, Germany: July-December 2020

Established in: 1958 (as Council of the European Economic Community)  


Council of Europe: not an EU institution

The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation. Best known for the European Convention on Human Rights. It includes 47 member states, 28 of which are EU members of the European Union.


More information on the European Institutions:
And here a nice video that gives a good summary:


Latest Publications

See All: Climate & Energy Targets